Composer: Erik Routley (1944)
Published in 5 hymnals

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML
Audio files: MIDI

Composer: Erik Routley

Erik Reginald Routley (1917-1982), was a scholar and an authority with keen insight, wit, grace and style. Pastor, musician and hymn writer in his own right, he was the catalyst for much that helped produce “The Hymn Explosion” of the 1970s. His influence as an editor, beginning with Congregational Praise (1951), Dunblane Praise (1962), Cantate Domino (1968), New Church Praise (1972), Ecumenical Praise (1977), and Rejoice in the Lord (1985), was profound. Dr. Routley was born in Brighton, England, on 31 October 1917, four hundred years exactly (give or take eleven days for the new style calender) after Martin Luther nailed his theses to the church door at Wittenburg. Erik once said that this was the only autobiographical fact about h… Go to person page >

Tune Information

Composer: Erik Routley (1944)
Key: B♭ Major
Copyright: Copyright © 1977 by Hope Publishing Co. and used by permission


The Cyber Hymnal #7717
Text: The Wondering World Inquires to Know
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)
Worship and Rejoice #55
Text: Great God, Your Love Has Called Us Here
  • Bulletin Score (XML)
  • Full Score (XML)
  • Bulletin Score (melody only) (XML)


Instances (1)TextImageAudioScoreFlexscore
The Cyber Hymnal #7717TextAudioScore